Connect with us


What Are the NSFAS Bursaries I Can Apply For



What Are the NSFAS Bursaries I Can Apply For

What Are the NSFAS Bursaries I Can Apply For. NSFAS, commonly known as the National Student Financial Aid Scheme, is a crucial component of the national government financial assistance program for university and TVET college students.

Rising Costs of Higher Education

Students are experiencing increasing difficulties in financing their studies independently as higher education expenses continue to rise.

NSFAS: A Key Financial Support Mechanism

The National Student Financial Aid Scheme is the national government’s vehicle for channeling funds to needy students to alleviate the financial burden associated with pursuing tertiary education.

Government Commitment to Equal Access

In order to cultivate a diverse and skilled workforce, the government allocates a substantial budget to higher education and training each year.

NSFAS Bursary Eligibility Criteria

Despite the government significant funding, NSFAS bursaries are not available to all students. Students are selected to receive financial assistance only if they meet specific criteria outlined by NSFAS.


Qualiifying Criteria for NSFAS Bursaries

Consider the following criteria provided by the NSFAS website when determining whether you qualify for a bursary:

South African Citizenship

  • Applicants must be South African citizens.

Household Income Threshold

  • The combined annual household income should not exceed R350,000 per annum.

SASSA Grant Recipients

  • Individuals receiving SASSA grants are eligible to apply.
See also  NSFAS Graft and Budget Cuts

First-Time University Registration

  • In order to qualify, you must be enrolled for the first time in an undergraduate degree program at a public university or in a TVET program for the National Certificate Vocational or report 191.

Application for a Qualification

  • Eligibility extends to those applying to study at a public university or TVET college for a qualification.

Already Registered University Students

  • Existing university students with an annual household income below R122,000 are eligible to apply.

Grade 9 & 10 Qualification

  • Passed Grade 9 & 10 to receive NSFAS funding for studies at a TVET college.

Grade 12 Qualification

  • Passed Grade 12 to receive NSFAS funding for studies at a university.


NSFAS serves as a vital lifeline for South African students pursuing higher education. By adhering to specific eligibility criteria, aspiring individuals can access financial support, ensuring that the pursuit of knowledge remains an inclusive and achievable endeavor for all.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *