Connect with us


Who Qualifies For NSFAS In TVET Colleges



Who Qualifies For NSFAS In TVET Colleges

Who Qualifies For NSFAS In TVET Colleges. NSFAS, short for the National Student Financial Aid Scheme, stands as a beacon of hope for underprivileged South African students seeking higher education opportunities. While its primary aim is to provide financial assistance for tertiary education, it’s crucial to understand how this support extends to Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Colleges.

NSFAS Support for TVET College Students

NSFAS doesn’t discriminate when it comes to educational institutions. Whether you’re pursuing a degree at a university or enrolling in a program at a TVET College, NSFAS is there to lend a helping hand. But what exactly are the criteria for TVET students to qualify for this funding? Let’s break it down:

Who Qualifies For NSFAS In TVET Colleges

To be eligible for NSFAS funding as a TVET College student, you must meet the following criteria:

  1. South African Citizenship: You must be a citizen of South Africa.
  2. Programme Registration: You should be registered or intending to register for a Programme-Led Pathway (PLP), National Certificate (Vocational) [NC(V)], or Report 191 programme at any public TVET College in South Africa.
  3. College Admission: You must have received admission or a firm offer for enrolment in a TVET College.
  4. Financial Need: Demonstrable need for financial assistance is a must.
  5. Income Threshold: Your combined gross family income per annum should not exceed the maximum threshold of up to R350,000.
  6. No Duplication of Qualifications: You should not be enrolling in a qualification that duplicates previous state-funded learning.
  7. N+Rule for Returning Students: Returning students should adhere to the N+Rule, which means they should not exceed a certain number of years for their study duration.
See also  UP Among Institutions That Repaid Unallocated NSFAS Funds

Additional Considerations for Progression

  • Passing Requirements: To progress to the next NC(V) or Report 191 level, certain passing requirements apply. For NC(V) progression, a student must pass at least five subjects in the previous level, while for Report 191 progression, a minimum of three subjects must be passed in the previous level.
  • N+ Rule Implementation: The N+ Rule dictates the maximum duration of NSFAS-funded academic terms at TVET Colleges. This rule may vary based on academic terms and repetition of levels.
  • Occupational Programmes: Occupational programmes have specific funding considerations and may not follow the N+ Rule due to their alignment with employment contracts. Funding for these programs typically covers tuition fees for the qualification duration, with allowances subject to eligibility criteria.


Meeting these requirements opens the door to NSFAS funding for TVET College students, covering tuition fees, accommodation costs, and transport allowances. By adhering to the outlined criteria and understanding the nuances of NSFAS support, eligible students can access the financial assistance they need to pursue their educational aspirations without undue financial burden.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *